Popcorn Shrimp

popcornshrimp

Popcorn shrimp are I think one of my favorite appetizers at restaurants. Since I have started cooking gluten free, I keep getting tempted to try making my own. The last time I tried though, they came out pretty terrible, but this time they worked out much better. It took me a while to even try that though, the last time I ate these at a restaurant, I ended up eating way too many, over a pound, lol, and that was after a burger. A friend and I went out for a bite, a few drinks and some video poker to kill time. After finishing my burger, and his wings, we decided that we were still a bit hungry, so ordered 3/4 pound of popcorn shrimp. before too long we decided that were were a bit hungry still. so ordered another round of popcorn shrimp… didn’t come, and didn’t come, asked the server… order didnt get placed in the kitchen, so we get half off…… still didn’t come, asked server again… order was placed, but got lost someplace. ok, now free, and another order placed in the kitchen. Finally, we get our shrimp, and a couple seconds later, oh we found the other order of shrimp that go lost, it went to the bar by mistake, so we had that bunch too. so between the two of us, we split over two pounds of shrimp.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1 lb cooked shrimp(tail removed, I found a medium size works well)
1 egg
1/2 cup 7thsage gluten free flour
2 TBSP corn meal
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1. mix dry ingredients
2. beat egg in bowl, and dip shimp to coat
3. place egg in flour mixture to coat
4. fry in oil at 375degrees until golden brown

Leave a Reply

