Pot Stickers

wonton

ok, so this is my second try making pot stickers. My wife and I enjoyed them immensely tonight, even though I did complain a bit about how long I was working on them, though to be honest, it wasn’t actually all that bad, it just took a few steps. mix meat, make wrappers, cut wrappers, fill wrappers, cook them. Although, I do have to say, it could have been worse, my wife mixed a double batch of the flour mix last week for the pizza I had made, so we had plenty already made for the wonton wrappers. I also made up some dipping sauce for these things, which I’ll list the ingredients for, but to be honest, I couldn’t even begin to tell you how much of anything I used.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1/2 lb. ground sausage
1 1/2 tsp fish sause
1 tsp sesame oil
1 small onion
1 cup shredded cabbage
1 1/2 tsp minced ginger
1 1/2 tsp gluten free soy sauce(most contain wheat, so be careful. WARNING! WALMART GREAT VALUE SOY SAUCE IS NO LONGER GLUTEN FREE)
3 green onions
1/2 tsp pepper
30 gluten free round wonton wrappers
2 cups gluten free chicken broth
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1. mix all ingredients except wrappers, oil and broth together in a large bowl
2. fold wrappers over pinching the top closed, and pleat the sides to seal(this site is a good example…here)
3. over med-high heat, heat oil and place pot stickers in hot oil carefully and let the bottoms become golden brown.
4. pour in broth covering partway up the pot stickers and cover. let steam 10 minutes then remove the lid. cook until remaining liquid is gone.
5. serve.

alternately, after step 2, you can freeze the pot stickers to cook later. cooking time may need adjusted however. Place pot stickers on a cookie sheet or a plate in the freezer in a single layer until they are frozen about an hour I think. once they are frozen, you may transfer them to a bag or other container to protect them from the freezer. if you try placing them in a bag before they are frozen like this, they will all stick together in one huge mass.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
dipping sauce
~~~~~~~~~~~~
the very simplest dipping sauce would be to just use a bit of soy sauce, however, these tend to soak up soy sauce far too quickly, so its best to at least add a little sesame oil to prevent the soy sauce going on too heavy, and to give it a little extra flavor. that being said, this is what I used for my sauce.

soy sauce
sesame oil
fish sauce
garlic powder
ginger powder
crushed red pepper

Leave a Reply

