Homemade Beef Sausage

Sausage I think is a pretty interesting category of food. its one of those types like chili, where everyone makes it a little bit different, and even then there are different spices and such to use for different uses. Anyway, I think this came out pretty good, but my wife didn’t like the strong fennel flavor, which I think was one of my favorite parts.

Anyway, I made this for the pizza I made tonight, which came out wonderful, so I’m certainly gonna keep this recipe around, maybe I’ll try the spices with ground pork next time to see how the two compare, but the beef turned out far better than I expected.

the pizza I had used the gluten free crust on this site(using my flour mix 1 instead of wendy wark though), pizza sauce bought from store(make sure its gluten free), mushrooms, garlic, and sausage. and of course don’t forget the mozzarella cheese.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1 lb. ground beef 80% lean (ground turkey or pork should be easily substituted)
1/2 tsp sage
1 tsp black pepper(preferably freshly ground)
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp basil
1 tsp fennel
1 tsp parsley
2 tbsp chopped onions
~~~~~~~~~~~
1. mix all ingredients well, this may take a couple minutes to get all the little pockets of spices incorporated into the meat
2. make into patties and refrigerate and use within a couple days, or freeze it

Leave a Reply

