Udon

This is my effort at gluten free udon. I don’t really have the right japanese cookware, so this is really just an approximation. In the recipe it calls for gluten free cooking wine, mirin should be used(a sweet rice cooking wine) I have no idea which brands are available gluten free of this, so I used cooking wine that I knew was gluten free. the holland house cooking wines have gluten free on the label(I’ve never used much cooking wine so I can’t tell you how this brand compares, but I at least know its gluten free) Be careful not to get the non wines though, their vinegars and some other products I am pretty sure are not gluten free.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Serves 4

1/2 lb chicken, cooked cut into bite sized strips.
4-8 mushrooms(I like having two mushrooms per person instead of just one, so I use 8 )
4 green onions (cut into 2 inch lengths, or smaller if desired)
4 eggs
1/4 cup soy sauce(WARNING! WALMART GREAT VALUE SOY SAUCE IS NO LONGER GLUTEN FREE)
4 cups dashi stock(1 tbsp bonito dashi mix plus 4 cups water) or chicken broth
4 oz gluten free spaghetti noodles
1/4 C gluten free cooking wine(see notes above)
1 Tbsp Sugar
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1. Boil noodles according to package directions
2. bring to a boil broth, soy sauce, cooking wine, and sugar
3. in bottom of a bowl place noodles. on top of noodles, place chicken, mushrooms, and green onions.
4. to make sure the egg cooks properly, crack it into the boiling broth. Remove from heat and let stand covered for 2-3 minutes.
5. Pour soup and an egg or two into each bowl. Serve.

2 thoughts on “Udon

  1. Mmmm, I love udon noodles! Looks like a good recipe.
    I think it is so great of you to feature gluten-free recipes. How inspiring!
    P.S., your blog looks really pretty with the font on the header!
    —-author of To The Nines (roomstyle.wordpress.com)

Leave a Reply

